About SSH


  1. Care for the underprivileged communities.
  2. Focus on early detection, intervention and rehabilitation of the most commonly occurring and preventable causes of deafness and hearing impairment, such as * :
    • middle ear infection
    • congenital
    • noise induced
    • ototoxicity
    • impacted cerumen
    • aging (presbycusis)
  3. Prevention programs at all levels of services.
  4. Human resource development.
  5. Infrastructure development specially focused on the primary and secondary level.

* priorities may vary with each country and time


  1. To facilitate integration of hearing impairment prevention programs into the existing health system of the countries.
  2. Promote partnership and collaboration among different stakeholders.
  3. Develop plans for raising and managing financial resources.
  4. Promote and support National Committees and National Plans.
  5. To collect population based data to develop projects and strategies.

Founder Members and Executive Committee (EC)

Founder Members

  1. Dr. Madan P. Upadhyay (WHOSEARO)
  2. Dr. Andrew Smith (WHO)
  3. Prof A. K. Agarwal (IFOS)
  4. Prof. M. Alauddin (SAARC-ENT)
  5. Dr. Bulantrisna Djelantik (STP WHOSEARO)
  6. Ms. Silvana Inselmann (CBM)
  7. Prof. Suchitra Prasansuk (HI)
  8. Dr. Sawat Ramaboot (WHO SEARO)
  9. Dr. Padman Ratnesar (IMPACT)

Some of the Founding Members, New Delhi, June 2004
Top Right to Left: Dr. A.K. Agarwal, Dr. Madan Upadhyay, Dr. Padman Ratnesar;
Bottom Right to Left: Ms Silvana Mehra, Dr. Bulantrisna Djelantik, Dr. Andrew Smith

Profile of Supporting Agencies

  • CBM (External website)
  • WHO (External website)
  • WHO SEARO (External website)
  • International Federation of Otolorayngological Societies (IFOS) (External website)
  • Hearing International 
(External website)
  • Maulana Azad Medical College (External website)
  • IMPACT (External website)
  • WWHearing (External website)
  • International Society of Audiology (External website)